Holiday Cottage Bonchurch village, Ventnor, Isle of Wight

Welcome to Haviland Cottage

A luxury holiday cottage nestled in pretty Bonchurch village, near Ventnor, Isle of Wight

Guest reviews of Haviland Cottage 

Since July 2020 we've welcomed lots of happy families, see below.


Five  star!

We've had such a lovely week here in your cottage , thanks very much !  

Reviewed by  Gary   16th  July 2021


Can't wait to return next year.

We have just relunctantly returned from a fantastic week at Haviland Cottage. The location is perfect both picturesque and secluded. The cottage is comfortable and very well equipped and the hot tub is just the icing on the cake. The gardens are very well kept and peaceful. Can't wait to return next year.

Reviewed by Gail 9th July 2021


What a fabulous week we had at Haviland Cottage...

It is lovely, they have thought of everything. Although the weather was mixed there are plenty of games for children and adults. In the evenings we enjoyed a BBQ and relaxing in the Jacuzzi. The extensive gardens are very well maintained and provided plenty of space for our two and a half year old grandson and our cockapoo to run around and play ball. We were also able to pick fresh strawberries from the garden.

Reviewed by The Goldsmith Family 2nd July 2021


Would absolutely recommend Haviland Cottage ...

It has everything you need and more . x

Reviewed by Lisa 25th June 2021


Haviland Cottage is gorgeous.

Fabulous gardens set in a beautiful rural location. It would make a great wedding reception venue. The interior has clearly been renovated to a very high and comfortable standard with lots of space and many thoughtful extras: plush towels, books, games, plastic glasses for outside use and a brilliant BBQ. The hot tub is a great addition, especially when the weather isn't warm enough to go to the nearby beach. The lane outside is narrow and only has 2 parking spaces.

Reviewed by Kathryn 18th June 2021


An absolute treat and pleasure to stay here , a true escape.


We chose Haviland Cottage initially, because we were looking for a top quality holiday property that was also dog friendly - we were not disappointed. I can confidently give this property a 10/10 rating. From the property itself, the incredible grounds and the high spec fixtures and fitting, they all contribute to a fantastic holiday home.

Our dog Dash had his own ‘dog snug’, which he loved being in and it gave him direct access to the garden. The doggy ‘welcome pack’ was greatly appreciated.
All our party were delighted with the quality of Haviland Cottage, it’s age giving a wonderful character, but modern and high end appliances making those ‘daily chores’ a pleasure. The addition of a hot tub is a sublime addition!
We were exceptionally lucky to visit when the rose garden was in full bloom, it was such a pleasure. Our party all appreciated the size of the gardens and my daughter loved the rope swing.

I cannot recommend this property highly enough, it was an absolute treat and pleasure to stay here, a true escape.

Reviewed by Lucy 11th June 2021


It truly is a hidden, peaceful gem with lots to explore nearby.

Congratulations, if you're reading this you've just found your holiday home! We cannot recommend Haviland Cottage enough. Stunning house, beautiful gardens, perfect location - oh and of course A HOT TUB! Book your stay now. Our family stayed here for a week and were blown away.

We felt spoilt with everything from the gorgeous soft towels and bedding , to the delicious smell of roses that hit you as you open the gate. It is a hidden , peaceful gem with lots to explore nearby.

Reviewed by Anna 5th June 2021


Precious memories made at Haviland.


Haviland Cottage did not disappoint in any way. From very comfortable beds to a superb kitchen & conservatory and general space was exceptional not to mention the hot tub which proved to be very popular ! 

 Fantastic location and gardens to die for. Would highly recommend a stay here which served us, our children and grandchildren extremely well. One of the nicest stays in the UK for us as a family. Precious memories made at Haviland. 

Reviewed by Kathryn 29th May 2021


First time in 39 years of marriage that we have returned.

We have just returned home after spending a very enjoyable holiday despite the mixed weather . Ventnor is an ideal base to explore the island, The addition of the hot tub to a beautiful home made it even more welcome place to return to after a busy day out . And of course the gardens are amazing and beautifully tended to. 

This was a return visit for us, bringing with us our daughters and granddaughter this time. To give an indication how much we loved the cottage it is the first time in 39 years of marriage that we have returned to the same place. Our daughters loved their time at the cottage also saying how peaceful and spacious it was. 

We have recommended the holiday to our friends and family and a couple that were walking passed as we were packing to leave . 

Reviewed by Chris & Janet 21st May 2021


We loved the house and the garden.

It was the a perfect base to explore the Island from , Ventnor is really special and we hope to come back. Its the nicest place we've stayed in the UK . Just loved the gardens.

Reviewed by Mary 14th May 2021


A clean, well presented , fully equipped cottage with large neat well tended gardens.

Highly recommended ! 
Reviewed by Steve, 30th  April 2021


We had a wonderful week in the beautiful house and garden.

It is truly dog friendly, we take our dogs away to holiday houses at least twice a year and this is the most relaxed I've ever felt as it was so well laid out.

No dogs on furniture or upstairs is a typical rule but here there is a proper sturdy gate on the stairs , the sitting room is easily shut off and there is a wonderful comfortable dog bedroom which means there is no effort in adhering to the rules.

Just wonderful ! Highly recommended.

Reviewed by Sophie, 23rd April 2021


We had a wonderful stay at Haviland cottage.

The house was so lovely & comfortable and was very clean, The gardens were so big & beautiful and were perfect for our active little kids. The hot tub was a great bonus. One can easily walk to the town of Ventnor. There is a lovely beach & great places to eat. We would highly recommend staying here - it's a beautiful part of the Island and the cottage is home away from home, Thank you so much for having us :) . 

Reviewed by Melissa, 16th April 2021


Our family had a fantastic holiday at Haviland Cottage.

It was our first visit to the Isle of Wight and it was made more special for staying at the cottage. We enjoyed the immaculately luxurious property, which is extremely comfortable with plenty of space and beautiful gardens. The cottage felt like "home away from home" catering for everything a family needs for an enjoyable stay. The highlight of our holiday was coming back to the cottage after a busy day out and relaxing in the hot tub !

Together with providing the perfect accommodation, we appreciated that the owners provided great holiday advice and tips for people that have not visited the island before.

We would definitely look to book again in the future.

Reviewed by  Ben, 12th April 2021


We had a lovely half term break at your stunning cottage!

The weather was not on our side, but it did not matter when the inside space had everything we needed. The Gardens are amazing and perfect for families, the property is also very dog friendly. The location is great, with a lovely walk down to the promenade. We understand, that some additions are being added to the property, like a hot tub. That should be fun for our next visit. Would highly recommend, The Hosts have thought of everything.

Reviewed by Edward, 23rd October 2020


We had a great time loved the Cottage and Ventnor!

Reviewed by Paul 16th October 2020


A wonderful property with stunning garden space

Spotlessly clean. Perfectly situated. The owner was extremely helpful too. We loved staying there.

Reviewed by Julia, 9th October 2020


The house is lovely with a secure walled garden

The garden behind the door was affectionately known by our granddaughters as the secret garden. The weather wasn't great but this did not detract from our enjoyment. High end equipment plus the necessary materials for each one. Even the dogs had a treat basket. Definitely one to return to at some stage. Thank you for providing everything needed to make our holiday so enjoyable.

Reviewed by Sue, 2nd October 2020


We had a lovely week at Haviland cottage

It was the perfect base to explore the island from. The owners have clearly put a lot of thought and effort into getting the house ready for guests. The walled garden was a real hi-light, the pictures don’t do it justice! Having a young child in our group we spent most evenings cooking and eating in the beautiful high spec kitchen diner, or using the fab BBQ. we all found the beds really comfortable! I highly recommend staying at Haviland cottage!

Reviewed by Danielle, 25th September 2020


Lovely cottage, perfect position in walking distance of Ventnor town/seafront.

Reviewed by Kim, 17th September 2020


Our stay at Haviland cottage was amazing

The gardens are outstanding. A beautiful house in a beautiful location. We will look forward to going back there!

Reviewed by Christopher, 11th September 2020


Has the wow factor

Would definitely go again. Gardens amazing and totally private. Main bathroom shower over bath but two walk in showers elsewhere.

Reviewed by Jennifer, 4th September 2020


Five Stars!

Thankyou so much for a most enjoyable stay at Haviland Cottage. Lovely week and much fun.

Reviewed by Susan, 29th August 2020


A beautiful house, delightfully furnished with many secret gardens!

The gardens are far more extensive than the pictures indicate. It is slightly farther from the sea front than we thought and the area is pretty hilly but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Reviewed by Cassie, 21st August 2020


This property is a real gem

We booked Haviland Cottage as it provided our family of 7 and 2 dogs with everything we needed and on our arrival we were absolutely blown away. This property is a real gem, with Its beautiful landscaped gardens, spacious accommodation, top end furnishings and equipment, it really is a 5 star property. Having stayed in a number of holiday lets, this is simply the best!

Reviewed by Roy, 7th August 2020


The house was super clean & the gardens are stunning, loved the game of croquet

Beautiful patio area outside the conservatory to sit and enjoy life, perfect for the BBQ. Good quality appliances in the kitchen. Very helpful property host via email. The house is within walking distance of Ventnor shops, beach & restaurants.

Reviewed by Susan, 31st July 2020


What a fabulous holiday on the Isle of Wight

It was an absolute pleasure to stay in Haviland Cottage with all of its history and charm, whilst the beautiful gardens were a joy to explore. It was such a shame to have to return home but we will be back again in the future.

Reviewed by Carla, 24th July 2020


Haviland Cottage is a beautiful stone house

The interior is light and airy with all the mod cons, beautifully decorated and spotless. The gardens are stunning and wonderfully kept. A very relaxing and peaceful place to stay.

Reviewed by Michael, 17th July 2020


Haviland Cottage was so wonderful

The house and gardens are beautiful with lovely outside eating areas. It is beautifully positioned both secluded yet not too far from the beach or town - really recommended.

Reviewed by Pam, 10th July 2020


Haviland is obviously kitted out to the best possible spec

The house is well designed and spacious, with a kitchen and conservatory that provided a perfect social spot for dinner/drinks and opens out onto a suntrap. There is more garWden space than you can shake a stick at and Ventnor town is a 10/15min walk away, a perfect blend of convenience to centre and space. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend this property to anyone considering a stay in the Isle of Wight.

Reviewed by John, 4th July 2020

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

GUIDED WALK TOURS

To make the most of our Dickens walk in Bonchurch, we can organise (with notice)  a guided tour with a local historian for small groups whether or not you are staying at Haviland Cottage.


What an absolute treat  !


Our guide Sue , is so knowledgeable,and makes the stories so interesting . She gets pleasure out of the history and sharing it with others which made it all the more fascinating.  Just the right pace as we were differently able.

Lots of information and none of it we knew! I like the local history and the Dickens element . Great to take in a sea stop and let the dog have a run and take in the sea air

We loved it. Thankyou for putting it together

Reviewed by Yvonne 2nd July 2021







Haviland Cottage guest book reviews

Book with confidence

Check availability and book on-line in minutes using our booking page