Holiday Cottage Bonchurch village, Ventnor, Isle of Wight

Welcome to Haviland Cottage

A luxury holiday cottage nestled in pretty Bonchurch village, near Ventnor, Isle of Wight

Guest reviews of Haviland Cottage 

Since July 2020 we've welcomed lots of happy families, see their reviews below:

You have taken the essence of a lovely cottage and enhanced it perfectly 

We typically take a house on the island at least once a year and can happily say that you have set a new benchmark at Haviland Cottage. We have stayed in some lovely properties over the years, but none have offerred a level of detail and thought that you have achieved at Haviland.

The decor and furnishings set off each room and the quality of bed linen and towels was noticeable.

The ability to access a great range of channels and the huge selection of dvd's and Children's books kept our little lad entertained.

For me , the kitchen and sun room were my favourite with all the necessities we would need along with some ingenious gadgets.

The outside areas are lovely , from the hot-tub through to the other gardens where there is lots of space to explore, relax and play.

You have taken the essence of a lovely cottage and enhanced it perfectly.

Thank you for the experience, I am sure we will be back.

Reviewed by Steve 21st October 2022


Garden is stunning

Beautiful house, great facilities , lovely location , and the turtles in the village pond were a surprise, lovely area and walk on the esplanade to Ventnor- Thank you !

Garden is stunning , but we didn't see a red squirrel - maybe next time!

Reviewed by Shelia 14th October 2022


It really exceeded all our expectations

When we booked Haviland Cottage we knew we were going to be staying somewhere special but it really exceeded all our expectations , the gardens are beautiful and our dog Oakley loved the large secure lawn to play. No expense has been spared inside the house with everything you could possibly need and more!

Lovely comfy beds & a hot tub to relax in .... perfect. We've stayed in may dog friendly homes for our holidays & Haviland Cottage is by far the best ! Thankyou Alan for being a great host. We have all had the best week!

Reviewed by Alison 17th September 2022


Everything you could possibly need was provided

I have just spent a long weekend at Haviland Cottage with friends. I had booked it after seeing wonderful photographs of it, however, the photos didn’t tell the whole story. The cottage is beautifully furnished to a very high standard, everything you could possibly need was provided. The gardens are beautiful and just like the cottage are well looked after, the hot tub was a great addition. A great location being able to walk to the beach but down a quiet road.The communication from the owner throughout was brilliant. If and when I stay on the IOW again, Haviland Cottage is where I will want to stay.My friends and I have had our girls weekends in numerous hotels, AirB&B’s etc over the years but all said this was by far the best place we have stayed. I would highly recommend it.

Reviewed by Sara 10th September 2022


We had a great holiday and will definitely come back 

We enjoyed Haviland Cottage so much last year we came back this summer for a second week. It is the most beautiful cottage and so well located between Bonchurch and Ventnor. We have been coming to the Isle of Wight for a number of years and Haviland Cottage is by far the best place we have ever stayed. Alan is a great host providing lots of useful and interesting information before the holiday.We had great weather and really enjoyed the lovely gardens and the hot tub. Our cockapoo Ellie felt very at home. She had great fun playing in the garden - It’s so safe and secure and so much for her to explore!My husband was delighted with the new EV charger, particularly since they are in short supply on the Island!There are some lovely restaurants in Ventnor - we went to the Bistro, Le Tour du Monde and the True Food Kitchen. All delicious! We also visited the Bonchurch Inn one evening, most of us choosing the life changing lasagne which was fantastic!The walk to Ventnor along the coastal path is beautiful. We particularly enjoyed walking on to Steephill Cove where dogs are allowed on the beach on a lead.We had a great holiday and will definitely come back to Haviland Cottage in the future.

Reviewed by Joanna 26th August 2022


We feel very lucky to have stumbled on this gem!

This is an absolutely delightful cottage with a wonderful, entirely secluded garden. It had everything we could want- even a hot tub ! - and the location was magical, in such a quiet spot just a short walk from Ventnor Beach.

Alan and the housekeeper Lisa could not have been more welcoming and attentive and we feel very lucky to have stumbled on this gem !

Reviewed by Emily 19th August 2022


We had a fantastic stay at Haviland Cottage with our three young children.

The cottage itself is beautiful and everything provided is very high quality. The hot tub is a lovely addition and we all enjoyed relaxing in there after a day out and about.

Probably the most impressive thing is the sprawling garden which the kids loved playing hide and seek in. The location is quiet, with a nice stroll down to the nearest seafront, and a further 15-20 mins walk to Ventnor and it’s tourist beach.

We found it a perfect base for day trips to Shanklin, Blackgang Chine and other tourist spots. The communication from Alan was first class throughout and a combo of him and Lisa also saved the day when I locked the keys in the house which was much appreciated!

Overall we had a fantastic stay and were all sad to leave Haviland cottage after a great week.

Reviewed by Pete 12th August 2022


Haviland Cottage is a complete oasis!

Beautiful place , we didn't want to leave !

Haviland Cottage is a complete oasis. Gorgeous house with everything you could wish for and the grounds are totally beautiful. It was hard to decide where to enjoy ! The surrounding area of Bonchurch is beautiful too and the walk into Ventnor is lovely.

We were blessed with hot sunshine the week we stayed and the air-conditioned kitchen/conservatory was a godsend.

The owners of Haviland Cottage have clearly taken a lot of care and prode in providing a holiday home with such wonderful fixtures and fittings. The bedrooms are so comfortable !

Alan was exceptionally helpful whilst we were staying and nothing was too much trouble. Communication was excellent throughout.

If you choose to stay at Haviland Cottage, you will not be disappointed !

Reviewed by Emma 5th August 2022


The house is just beautiful

We've enjoyed such a lovely week at this glorious place! The house is just beautiful , so light & spacious , it easily accomodated all 7 of us. 3 bathrooms and loo were brillant.

The gardens were an absolute delight-such a treat , for all including Ziggy! ( the Yorkie poo!) . Bonchurch is a gem of a place . Altogether, such a great choice . Alan & Lisa couldn't have been more helpful - thankyou !

Reviewed by Maureen 22nd July 2022


Lots of character and charm.

We spent a lovely week at Haviland cottage recently. The weather was hot when we stayed but the addition of the air conditioning unit in the kitchen was a godsend. There were also plenty of places to sit in the well established walled garden. You could find somewhere to sit in sun or shade. I think we spent more time in the garden than in the house.

The house is well equipped and beautifully presented with lots of character and charm. We all loved the garden, the dog, the teens enjoyed some croquet and us the peace for a morning cuppa. Most enjoyable and relaxing.


Reviewed by Ann-Marie 15th July 2022


Perfect location for us.

A beautifully finished cottage with such lovely tranquil private gardens and perfect location for us, in a quiet spot but with easy walk down to dog-friendly beach and handy for sea-front and town centre. Great to find luxury accommodation which is so welcoming for the dogs.

The dogs are missing it already

Reviewed by Mike 8th July 2022


Wow!!! What an amazing house!

We'd wanted to come to Haviland Cottage for such a long time and I'd built up a huge expectation . Well, we certainly ween't dissapointed.

Literally had to drag ourselves out of the house as we wanted to soak up everything that was on offer in the property , especially the opportunity to relax in the numerous garden areas. PERFECT setting for our dog as we haven't had to worry about hm escaping.

The house has everything you could wish for & more. The extensive grounds have been beautifully designed & are a delight to sit in.

We don't feel like we're in a "holiday home" it actually feels like it's our own place with every kitchen utensil you need, plenty of film choice, comfortable bedrooms & really high quality appliances, Just a tiny suggestion would be some deck chairs in the lower garden so we could've enjoyed that in comfort too.

Thankyou so much for opening your home up to us,

Anyone booking will NOT be dissapointed & we will be recommending to all our friends and family. Thank you once again for a fabulous holiday.


Reviewed by Sara 1st July 2022


Haviland Cottage is just perfect.

I just wanted to say thankyou for letting us stay in your beautiful home. We have had such a lovely week exploring the island. It's been a lovely week from start to finish , the Isle of Wight is certainly a beautiful island , and Haviland Cottage is just perfect.


Reviewed by Emma 24th June 2022


The gardens are absolutely stunning.

We stayed in Haviland cottage in June and had a wonderful stay. The layout of the rooms was perfect and not just bare minimum to make do, but with a real sense of luxury that comes with really caring about the property and everyone who stays there.
The gardens are absolutely stunning. We had a routine of either having breakfast in the amazing conservatory or the smaller seated area in the back garden. Dinners were typically outside in the barbecue are and were generally very relaxing. We had some family with us for a few days and this holiday was the most engaged I have ever seen my neice. Eating outside with the family and running around the garden, playing on the swings was just perfect.
We had a superb time, the decor was amazing, everyone fell in love with the designer wallpaper. The gardens were amazing. The kitchen and utility rooms had all the facilities you could ask for and more - all in a perfect corner of the island.
Genuinely we will be back - and hopefully regularly!


Reviewed by Julie 17th June 2022


We felt relaxed as everything was just right here..

On arrival to the house I had the immediate feel of a Menorocan village setting, Natural stone walls to the lane and house. The property is steeped in 19th century history, a real gem.

Beautifully appointed, comprehensively equipped with lovely internal features and decor. A fabulous feature is the dog snug and bedroom which is perfect place for your pooch to relax and sleep. To make them feel like Royalty !

The gardens are magnificant. All 3 of them ! They are completely secure for dogs . Our Pomsky loved the freedom to roam and play. We also loved the peacful ambiance of the house and gardens, We felt relaxed as everything was just right here.

We had a great time. It ended too soon !

We were sorry to leave but will be back !


Reviewed by Kevin 10th June 2022


Haviland Cottage has been a dream place to stay.

What can I say ....  Haviland Cottage has been a dream place to stay ! We loved our stay and will be back. We have been so comfortable and enjoyed your lovely home ! We are sorry to leave .

Thank You !

Reviewed by Gail 3rd June 2022


Haviland Cottage is a magical and beautiful place to stay ...

The house is so comfortable and relaxing you will never want to leave. We had a fantastic week with lots of adventures as we have a 7 year old and two lurchers. We were welcomed by Alan and the locals and we couldn;t have wanted for anything more. Even if you prefer to stay at the cottage , the gardens are so lovely, and the hot tub was a bonus !

We were sorry to leave but will be back !


Reviewed by Charlotte 27th May 2022


What a fabulous find!

As soon as we walked through the gate at Haviland Cottage we knew we had made a great choice. What a fabulous find! The house itself was so well equipped for both humans and dogs. Spotlessly clean and very comfortable.

The gardens were amazingly beautiful with lots of seating areas and plenty of space for dogs to run around. There are lots of lovely safe dog walks close by too. We will definitely be back.

Reviewed by Shelia 20th May 2022



Garden Lush ! 

What a wonderful home from home , decor fab, garden lush!

Recommend : The Hut , splendid food, Marsala Bay for Indidan food - they deliver .

Thankyou for letting us stay , we will be back !

Reviewed by Gina 13th May 2022


Loved the complete silence

Stunningly beautiful and welcoming house. Loved the complete silence and stillness in the night, the sumptous bed , hot tub and gardens. Thank you for having me !

Reviewed by Angie 22nd April 2022


Haviland Cottage is simply stunning !!

We couldn’t have asked for anything more from our stay, from the moment that we opened the gate in the stone wall to the moment that we handed back the keys it was simply idillic, it really is a small slice of heaven.If you are looking to stay somewhere special on the IOW look no further. Thank you again Alan and Matt for opening up your beautiful home to myself my family (and our  pouches) to enjoy. We will definitely be returning next year

Reviewed by Bryan 15th  April 2022


Superb stay !

Superb stay, loved the gardens and the hot-tub. Beautiful setting in Bonchurch & Ventnor. Many thanks.

Reviewed by Amy 8th April 2022


Wow!! Haviland Cottage is truly stunning.

We have just enjoyed a wonderful week there, with its beautiful gardens & the hot tub as an extra treat.
Our dogs, Chester & Luna also enjoyed all the space and the walks by the sea.
Bonchurch Inn was a much needed find for a nice cold drink after walking the steep hill!!
We would highly recommend Haviland Cottage.

Reviewed by Kara 1st April 2022


We couldn't quite believe it was all ours ....

Just back from a 4 night break and we are in love with this place! We couldn't quite believe it was all ours - total luxury and beautifully decorated throughout. The ground floor kitchen, dining area and dogs den ( including shower room ) are all linked so work well to spend time with the dogs. And for our tiny dogs it worked brilliantly to have the small walled garden area just outside withh the hot tub to keep the dogs secure. The gardens are truly amazing and the sun trap back patio was our perfect breakfast spot each morning.

Bonchurch is a lovely area - we hadn't explored it before. So much history and the Bonchurch Inn was a real gem. But those steps to get there - yikes !

Cannot recommend this place enough- a real taste of luxury for some very special family memories with your pooches. It ticks all the boxes.

Reviewed by Julie 25th March 2022


This is an incredible base for adventures across the Island

Our return to Haviland Cottage was as lovely as the first visit. There has been some upgrades . including decorative feature walls in the lounge and bedrooms, a new electric car charge station in the parking area, updated TV and wood burner.

We had a fabulous time, amazing facilities including a gas powered bbq which was well used during our holiday.

This is an incredible base for adventures across the island, providing comfort and an amazing jacuzzi to recharge your batteries . Our dog Bean , really enjoyed the dog den, everything provided for a pups best life!

We went on a great fishing trip from Bembridge with Catchalot charters, can thoroughly recommend. Haviland cottage is peaceful, beautiful , restfull and restorative.

Thanks to Alan and Matt, we hope to return soon.


Reviewed by Gilly 18th March 2022


A lovely warm, relaxing feeling on entering Haviland Cottage .....

Well, this was our 3rd time at Haviland Cottage. This time we brought back my father who is 90 for the second time and also my sister and brother in law for the first time with their dog. They had never been to the Isle of Wight and my sister particularly liked the history surrounding the cottage. You get a lovely warm, relaxing feeling on entering Haviland Cottage, it seemed to welcome us back. It is so clean and is lovingly cared for. I love the new butterfly wallpaper that has been used. The owners Alan and Matt continue to have great communication and are there to help if needed. The gardens continue to wow. We all had a wonderful time in the beautiful cottage.

Reviewed by Janet 11th March 2022


Our 2nd visit in 6 months!

Wonderful home from home . Excellent Location. We will come again x

Reviewed by John 4th March 2022


A real treat.

Perfect place to escape and unwind for a short weekend, in this quiet corner of Bonchurch. The cottage offers an instant warmth, the conservatory provides a beautiful light and airy dining space. The garden is a children's hide and seek paradise. The hot tub helped to revive a few pairs of tired feet after walking the nearby Downs, a real treat.

Reviewed by Grace 25th February 2022


Just Wow!

From the moment you open the gate this property takes your breath away , it's simply stunning both inside and out.

On one of the windiest weeks the Isle of Wight has seen in a long time, this cottage wraps its arms around you in warmth and homeliness. The decor inside is elegant and stylish, the kitchen with its conservatory beautifully light and airy. The gardens are stunning even in winter, a haven for wildlife, and yes we saw a Red Squirrel !

The hot tub after a days walking is the best treat , and the walk down to Ventnor via the path is a must.

We thoroughly enjoyed our week away and we look forward to returning next year ...

Reviewed by Helen 18th February 2022


A Special Place to Stay

Such a beautiful home, full of character and with lovely furnishings and decor. A great place for exploring the island and a special place to stay - don't want to leave !

Reviewed by Nicki  11th February 2022


First class accommodation 

We loved our time at Haviland for a short break. For our family of 5 and Stanley our dog, it was an exceptional place to stay at a place which was so well equipped and had so many wonderful touches. 

All the bedrooms are beautifully decorated and the lounge very comforting with lots of things to keep the whole family entertained. The kitchen contains everything you need to cook and connects to a bright conservatory diner.  The jacuzzi and snug room for dogs were extra special treats and the location with a short walk to the beach and Ventnor town was great.

Stanley particularly loved the gardens, with not just one but two to roam and sniff out smells and excitement. As dog owners there are also some great places in nearby Bonchurch and the seafront to drink and eat with your dog, so no need to leave the pups at home.

First class accommodation. Highly recommended and we do hope to come back.

Reviewed by James 28th January 2022


We have just spent our honeymoon at Haviland Cottage

We wanted somewhere beautiful and peaceful that would allow dogs. And Haviland Cottage ticked all the boxes. From the moment you drive up , you know you are in for a real treat. The cottage sits behind a stone wall and is wonderfully private. You are instantly impressed once you open the front door as it is immaculate and it’s a cottage that just keeps giving. Whilst it is light and spacious it still retains a cosy feel which is what everyone wants during a cold week in January. Alan and Matt have lovingly created an exceptional holiday home, with tasteful decoration and furnishings throughout . The walled garden is a total delight, even in winter. There were plants still out and some coming up that you would never see on the mainland. We went to the famous Ventnor botanical gardens and thought the Haviland garden was better! We did use the hot tub despite the cold weather and didn’t notice the cold as it bubbles away at about 39 degrees c.

The cottage is also quite historical having been the coach house to the very large Victorian property next door. When Queen Victoria visited her coach was parked in what is now the kitchen all those years ago! Victoria had quite a sophisticated bathroom and shower at Osborne House ( which you can see if you visit) but we wonder what she would have made of a hot tub?!

Of course one of the main features of the cottage is that it is dog friendly and it’s really great to find somewhere that allows dogs but is also of a high standard. Our girls Ruby & Pickle loved it, especially the large garden to romp around. Ruby is the great escape artist and even she couldn’t get out! A walk down to the beach at Bonchurch each morning and evening along the secret path was a must for Pickle. She is now more confident around water.

Bonchurch is a charming village with all the added history that goes with it, especially about Charles Dickens. There is a Dickens section of books and information in the lounge to find out more. It doesn’t take long to walk to Ventnor, either along the coastal path or by road. It’s worth doing both as there are some really quirky cottages along route. Make sure you stop at Toni’s tearoom on the Esplanade as it’s really good and very dog friendly.

We would also like to thank Alan , Matt and the team for their very kind wedding gift. A very nice touch.

Wishing you a successful 2022 season

Reviewed by  Maria 21st January 2022


A complete home from home experience

Amazing 3 night weekend stay at the beautiful Haviland Cottage in picturesque Bonchurch.A complete home from home experience, cosy, immaculately clean & furnished to a high degree. The gardens and grounds are fabulous, so much space!Highlights for us were the hot tub and luxurious beds & linens, best nights sleep in ages!!Highly recommended, we will return!!


Reviewed by Barbara   14th January 2022


Just Wonderful !

Christmas at Haviland Cottage.

Relaxing, beautiful decorations, luxurious, laughter. Just Wonderful! We are sad to leave. Thankyou so much xx

Reviewed by Kay 19th December 2021


Haviland is gorgeous. (Even the postman told me so!)

From the moment you walk through the door you are bound to love it! The sitting room is just gorgeous, my favourite room! The log burner really made the holiday so cozy as it was freezing outside! Choosing a bedroom was really tricky as they are all beautiful. The kitchen has amazing, everything in it is of a really nice quality. I felt a bit sad to come back to my own knives… I can’t go any further without mentioning the super duper toaster!!!!! You can’t fail to love a gadget that offers you “a bit more” button! Everything is the house was really high spec and a pleasure to use. The shower was great, plenty of hot water, the table was useful for working from “home” and the sitting room, as previously mentioned, just gorgeous. It was really useful to have a permanent stair gate, just in case one of the dogs got curious whilst we weren’t looking.
We really enjoyed our stay at Haviland and spent most of our visit there as, frankly, there wasn’t anywhere nicer to be!
From our dogs’ point of view this was the best holiday they have ever had! The main reason for this being the tremendous gardens. Each day was a dog adventure as they spent each morning exploring the spaces and levels of the beautiful grounds. Honestly, it was like it was new every day, I’ve never seen them so excited to get out of a door! They were so happy to be in the gardens that I braved the very single digit temperatures every morning to have my tea as toast (again, epic toaster!) outside in the rose garden just to watch them scamper about in the leaves, having the time of their lives.
Haviland is a gorgeous place, so beautiful, picturesque and so wonderfully quiet. We would like to come back again when the weather is warmer as I’m sure there is much more enjoyment to be had in the sunshine.
Thank you so much for having us.

Reviewed by Vicki  14th November 2021


Another perfect holiday at Haviland Cottage 

.We have just returned from our 2nd stay at Haviland Cottage and it was every bit as perfect as our 1st. The Cottage and gardens are immaculately kept and all the appliances are top of the range. The location is perfect very quiet but within walking distance of the beach and village. The hot tub was an added bonus and well used. The host Alan is very helpful and welcoming. We are returning again in June and I'm sure it won't be the last.

Reviewed by Gail 1st November 2021


We’ve just had an amazing week at Haviland cottage ..,

... from Nespressos in the morning to gin and tonics in the hot tub , everything has been thought of and executed to the highest standard. It’s a spacious home with a cosy feel ,set in beautiful secluded gardens with its resident red squirrels and woodpecker.

The walled garden is totally dog friendly and much enjoyed by our dog, Bean . He also had his own room, the dog den, and a welcome pack with treats , toys and poop bags.

Perfect place to stay when visiting the Isle of Wight , with all its whimsy . The owner , Alan , was extremely helpful with advice on everything from ferries to full island guide

Reviewed by Gilly 15th October 2021


I would absolutely recommend this property.

Just got back from a weeks stay at Haviland Cottage. The house was was of excellent standard with attention to detail. Best quality appliances and plenty of utensils to use if you were cooking for a family. Having a separate room for my dog was perfect as I could shower and groom him without disrupting the kitchen. The lounge was cosy at night, with the option of a real fire. All the bedrooms were spacious and light and again quality linen was used. The gardens were fabulous and would be lovely to use to their full potential in warmer weather. The hot tub was an added bonus especially after a full day out walking. I would absolutely recommend this property for a stay on The Isle of Wight. Great location with Ventnor town centre only 10 minutes away.

Reviewed by Kim 8th October 2021


We had the best time , we really did .

We switched off and relaxed at your most wonderful, restful and quite cottage.

The cottage was so comfortable and very much like my home in Kent, so it seemed familiar and cosy immediately. I loved the history behind the cottage and "next door". The dogs were so happy and it was great to get away with them , The gardens are beautiful and added a lovely dimension to our stay. We enjoyed the hot tub and it was very therapeutic.

We have plans to visit again soon.

Reviewed by Georgina 1st October 2021


Managed to see a Red Squirrel in the garden 

We had a lovely week, weather wasn't too bad and managed to see a red squirrel in the garden and a sea eagle near Osbourne House. Your house and garden were just what we wanted .  

Reviewed by John 24th September 2021


Another fabulous visit 

We have recently returned from a wonderful week at Haviland Cottage. This is our second visit to the property and we loved it as much, or even more than our last visit. The owners have thought of everything, down to the finest detail, which makes the stay so comfortable and enjoyable.

It was spotlessly clean when we arrived, it’s really well positioned and the gardens are an absolute delight. The addition of the hot tub since our visit last year was a very welcome addition and well used whilst we were there.

Thank you Alan and Matt for everything. It feels like you even organised the weather for us, which was glorious. We will visit again

Reviewed by Julia 17th September  2021


House is tastefully decorated.

A wonderful week spent at Haviland Cottage! Our dog absolutely loved the dog bedroom and it did make life very easy. The kitchen is very well equipped with everything you could think of with and the house is tastefully decorated. The hot tub is great our whole party enjoyed this. We had wonderful weather and enjoyed long costal walks every day. The owner is very helpful providing information on the local area places to visit, eat etc. Would have no hesitation in recommending this property.

Reviewed by Maureen 10th September 2021


The property is gorgeous ..

We have just returned refreshed and relaxed after a wonderful week at Haviland Cottage. The property is gorgeous, decorated and equipped to a high standard with everything you could need and more including a travel cot and highchair for our 16 month old grandson who also enjoyed sitting on the sheep footstools and looking through the vast library of children's books.

We had fantastic weather and were able to make the most of the gardens which are beautiful and private.. We also had the bonus of the hot tub which was installed after our booking. Alan the host was very helpful. We look forward to returning next year and we have rebooked for next September

Reviewed by Jeff 3rd September 2021



The best garden we have ever had access to...

Fantastic house. The best garden we have ever had access to. Location is amazing, so near to the beach yet remote enough for absolute silence. The hot tub was a great bonus. The hosts are amazing with great communication throughout our stay. The house is truly dog friendly with a choice of beds for our dog, treats plus a ball. Whilst we didn't, it was possible to leave the dog at home to pop out with a section of the house suitable to leave them, including access to a safe garden

Reviewed by Melanie 27th August 2021


The best holiday house we have ever stayed in....

We had such a lovely holiday in Haviland Cottage. The house is beautiful, really comfortable and so well equipped. The walled garden is stunning. Our daughters loved the swings and our cockapoo had so much fun exploring. The hot tub was fantastic, The house is very well situated. It is very close to the coast and only a short walk from Ventnor, This is the best holiday house we have ever stayed in and we are looking forward to returning next year!

Reviewed by Joanna 20th August 2021


Gorgeous house with beautiful gardens.

Great location for Coast walks and down into Ventnor town. Very quiet and peaceful. Comfortable bedrooms, well-equipped kitchen. Lovely !

Reviewed by William 13th August 2021


We were blown away by the house and the gardens.

We have just returned from an amazing week in the Isle of Wight staying at Haviland Cottage. From the minute that we walked through the door we were blown away by the house and gardens. From the fabulous house to the BBQ area to the hot tub and then onto the different gardens it truly was a great find .

The owners were very helpful throughout our week with helpful advice and suggestions for our holiday. I would recommend Haviland Cottage to everyone ! 

Reviewed by Amanda 6th August 2021


I would highly recommend Haviland Cottage.

We recently stayed at Haviland Cottage for a short break to the Isle of Wight and couldn't be happier with our choice of holiday home. Firstly, the communication from the owner prior to our visit was fantastic. They really made us feel welcome and were able to give top tips for restaurants and beaches.

To call the property a cottage does the property a disservice really as it's pretty spacious, light and airy ; that being said it does have those wonderful cottage features. There are three good sized double bedrooms upstairs and a large single room downstairs, all nicely furnished and light . There is also a dog room that opens straight on to the rear garden . If you have dogs you will love this room !!  It also doubles as a comfy room for children to relax in and watch television when they get a spare second. Our little boy LOVED this room.

The kitchen and sunroom are ideal for entertaining and enjoying a family meal and then after it is straight in the hot tub for a relax.

For me, the real gems of this property are the gardens and in particular the large garden, It's a great place to relax with the family, enjoy the sun, a picnic and then later in the evening a nice bbq.

If you are looking for a holiday home in the Ventnor area, I would highly recommend Haviland Cottage.

Reviewed by Rich  30th  July 2021


This cottage is wonderful...

 

Everything is of a very high quality, there were towels provided in the bedrooms even though the website said there weren't. Towels provided for the hot tub which was a great addition to relax after busy days A super bar-b-que with tools Soap dispensers in all bathrooms, dishwasher and wash tablets The gardens are also fabulous, our granddaughters loved the swings and taking us around the "secret garden" They also loved the small pink chairs and the books We've had such a lovely week here in your cottage , thanks very much !

Reviewed by Sue  23rd July 2021


We had an idyllic stay at Haviland Cottage.


The house and gardens are fantastic. The location is perfect, a short walk to the local dog friendly beach and a number of other great walks from the house, including up St Boniface Down and along the coastal path to Ventnor and Steephill Cove. Would highly recommend a stay here. We've had such a lovely week here in your cottage , thanks very much !

Reviewed by Gary 16th July 2021


Can't wait to return next year.


We have just reluctantly returned from a fantastic week at Haviland Cottage. The location is perfect both picturesque and secluded. The cottage is comfortable and very well equipped and the hot tub is just the icing on the cake. The gardens are very well kept and peaceful. Can't wait to return next year.

Reviewed by Gail 9th July 2021


What a fabulous week we had at Haviland Cottage...


It is lovely, they have thought of everything. Although the weather was mixed there are plenty of games for children and adults. In the evenings we enjoyed a BBQ and relaxing in the Jacuzzi. The extensive gardens are very well maintained and provided plenty of space for our two and a half year old grandson and our cockapoo to run around and play ball. We were also able to pick fresh strawberries from the garden.

Reviewed by  Jenny  2nd July 2021


Would absolutely recommend Haviland Cottage ...

 

It has everything you need and more . x

Reviewed by Lisa 25th June 2021


Haviland Cottage is gorgeous.


Fabulous gardens set in a beautiful rural location. It would make a great wedding reception venue. The interior has clearly been renovated to a very high and comfortable standard with lots of space and many thoughtful extras: plush towels, books, games, plastic glasses for outside use and a brilliant BBQ. The hot tub is a great addition, especially when the weather isn't warm enough to go to the nearby beach. The lane outside is narrow and only has 2 parking spaces.

Reviewed by Kathryn 18th June 2021


An absolute treat and pleasure to stay here , a true escape.


We chose Haviland Cottage initially, because we were looking for a top quality holiday property that was also dog friendly - we were not disappointed. I can confidently give this property a 10/10 rating. From the property itself, the incredible grounds and the high spec fixtures and fitting, they all contribute to a fantastic holiday home.

Our dog Dash had his own ‘dog snug’, which he loved being in and it gave him direct access to the garden. The doggy ‘welcome pack’ was greatly appreciated.
All our party were delighted with the quality of Haviland Cottage, it’s age giving a wonderful character, but modern and high end appliances making those ‘daily chores’ a pleasure. The addition of a hot tub is a sublime addition!
We were exceptionally lucky to visit when the rose garden was in full bloom, it was such a pleasure. Our party all appreciated the size of the gardens and my daughter loved the rope swing.

I cannot recommend this property highly enough, it was an absolute treat and pleasure to stay here, a true escape.

Reviewed by Lucy 11th June 2021


It truly is a hidden, peaceful gem with lots to explore nearby.

Congratulations, if you're reading this you've just found your holiday home! We cannot recommend Haviland Cottage enough. Stunning house, beautiful gardens, perfect location - oh and of course A HOT TUB! Book your stay now. Our family stayed here for a week and were blown away.

We felt spoilt with everything from the gorgeous soft towels and bedding , to the delicious smell of roses that hit you as you open the gate. It is a hidden , peaceful gem with lots to explore nearby.

Reviewed by Anna 5th June 2021


Precious memories made at Haviland.


Haviland Cottage did not disappoint in any way. From very comfortable beds to a superb kitchen & conservatory and general space was exceptional not to mention the hot tub which proved to be very popular ! 

 Fantastic location and gardens to die for. Would highly recommend a stay here which served us, our children and grandchildren extremely well. One of the nicest stays in the UK for us as a family. Precious memories made at Haviland. 

Reviewed by Kathryn 29th May 2021


First time in 39 years of marriage that we have returned.

We have just returned home after spending a very enjoyable holiday despite the mixed weather . Ventnor is an ideal base to explore the island, The addition of the hot tub to a beautiful home made it even more welcome place to return to after a busy day out . And of course the gardens are amazing and beautifully tended to. 

This was a return visit for us, bringing with us our daughters and granddaughter this time. To give an indication how much we loved the cottage it is the first time in 39 years of marriage that we have returned to the same place. Our daughters loved their time at the cottage also saying how peaceful and spacious it was. 

We have recommended the holiday to our friends and family and a couple that were walking passed as we were packing to leave . 

Reviewed by Chris & Janet 21st May 2021


We loved the house and the garden.


It was the a perfect base to explore the Island from , Ventnor is really special and we hope to come back. Its the nicest place we've stayed in the UK . Just loved the gardens.

Reviewed by Mary 14th May 2021


A clean, well presented , fully equipped cottage with large neat well tended gardens.


Highly recommended ! 

Reviewed by Steve, 30th  April 2021


We had a wonderful week in the beautiful house and garden.


It is truly dog friendly, we take our dogs away to holiday houses at least twice a year and this is the most relaxed I've ever felt as it was so well laid out.

No dogs on furniture or upstairs is a typical rule but here there is a proper sturdy gate on the stairs , the sitting room is easily shut off and there is a wonderful comfortable dog bedroom which means there is no effort in adhering to the rules.

Just wonderful ! Highly recommended.

Reviewed by Sophie, 23rd April 2021


We had a wonderful stay at Haviland cottage.


The house was so lovely & comfortable and was very clean, The gardens were so big & beautiful and were perfect for our active little kids. The hot tub was a great bonus. One can easily walk to the town of Ventnor. There is a lovely beach & great places to eat. We would highly recommend staying here - it's a beautiful part of the Island and the cottage is home away from home, Thank you so much for having us :) . 

Reviewed by Melissa, 16th April 2021


Our family had a fantastic holiday at Haviland Cottage.


It was our first visit to the Isle of Wight and it was made more special for staying at the cottage. We enjoyed the immaculately luxurious property, which is extremely comfortable with plenty of space and beautiful gardens. The cottage felt like "home away from home" catering for everything a family needs for an enjoyable stay. The highlight of our holiday was coming back to the cottage after a busy day out and relaxing in the hot tub !

Together with providing the perfect accommodation, we appreciated that the owners provided great holiday advice and tips for people that have not visited the island before.

We would definitely look to book again in the future.

Reviewed by  Ben, 12th April 2021


We had a lovely half term break at your stunning cottage!

The weather was not on our side, but it did not matter when the inside space had everything we needed. The Gardens are amazing and perfect for families, the property is also very dog friendly. The location is great, with a lovely walk down to the promenade. We understand, that some additions are being added to the property, like a hot tub. That should be fun for our next visit. Would highly recommend, The Hosts have thought of everything.

Reviewed by Edward, 23rd October 2020


We had a great time loved the Cottage and Ventnor!

Reviewed by Paul 16th October 2020


A wonderful property with stunning garden space

Spotlessly clean. Perfectly situated. The owner was extremely helpful too. We loved staying there.

Reviewed by Julia, 9th October 2020


The house is lovely with a secure walled garden

The garden behind the door was affectionately known by our granddaughters as the secret garden. The weather wasn't great but this did not detract from our enjoyment. High end equipment plus the necessary materials for each one. Even the dogs had a treat basket. Definitely one to return to at some stage. Thank you for providing everything needed to make our holiday so enjoyable.

Reviewed by Sue, 2nd October 2020


We had a lovely week at Haviland cottage

It was the perfect base to explore the island from. The owners have clearly put a lot of thought and effort into getting the house ready for guests. The walled garden was a real hi-light, the pictures don’t do it justice! Having a young child in our group we spent most evenings cooking and eating in the beautiful high spec kitchen diner, or using the fab BBQ. we all found the beds really comfortable! I highly recommend staying at Haviland cottage!

Reviewed by Danielle, 25th September 2020


Lovely cottage, perfect position in walking distance of Ventnor town/seafront.

Reviewed by Kim, 17th September 2020


Our stay at Haviland cottage was amazing

The gardens are outstanding. A beautiful house in a beautiful location. We will look forward to going back there!

Reviewed by Christopher, 11th September 2020


Has the wow factor

Would definitely go again. Gardens amazing and totally private. Main bathroom shower over bath but two walk in showers elsewhere.

Reviewed by Jennifer, 4th September 2020


Five Stars!

Thankyou so much for a most enjoyable stay at Haviland Cottage. Lovely week and much fun.

Reviewed by Susan, 29th August 2020


A beautiful house, delightfully furnished with many secret gardens!

The gardens are far more extensive than the pictures indicate. It is slightly farther from the sea front than we thought and the area is pretty hilly but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Reviewed by Cassie, 21st August 2020


This property is a real gem

We booked Haviland Cottage as it provided our family of 7 and 2 dogs with everything we needed and on our arrival we were absolutely blown away. This property is a real gem, with Its beautiful landscaped gardens, spacious accommodation, top end furnishings and equipment, it really is a 5 star property. Having stayed in a number of holiday lets, this is simply the best!

Reviewed by Roy, 7th August 2020


The house was super clean & the gardens are stunning, loved the game of croquet

Beautiful patio area outside the conservatory to sit and enjoy life, perfect for the BBQ. Good quality appliances in the kitchen. Very helpful property host via email. The house is within walking distance of Ventnor shops, beach & restaurants.

Reviewed by Susan, 31st July 2020


What a fabulous holiday on the Isle of Wight

It was an absolute pleasure to stay in Haviland Cottage with all of its history and charm, whilst the beautiful gardens were a joy to explore. It was such a shame to have to return home but we will be back again in the future.

Reviewed by Carla, 24th July 2020


Haviland Cottage is a beautiful stone house

The interior is light and airy with all the mod cons, beautifully decorated and spotless. The gardens are stunning and wonderfully kept. A very relaxing and peaceful place to stay.

Reviewed by Michael, 17th July 2020


Haviland Cottage was so wonderful

The house and gardens are beautiful with lovely outside eating areas. It is beautifully positioned both secluded yet not too far from the beach or town - really recommended.

Reviewed by Pam, 10th July 2020


Haviland is obviously kitted out to the best possible spec

The house is well designed and spacious, with a kitchen and conservatory that provided a perfect social spot for dinner/drinks and opens out onto a suntrap. There is more garWden space than you can shake a stick at and Ventnor town is a 10/15min walk away, a perfect blend of convenience to centre and space. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend this property to anyone considering a stay in the Isle of Wight.

Reviewed by John, 4th July 2020

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

GUIDED WALK TOURS

To make the most of our Dickens walk in Bonchurch, we can organise (with notice)  a guided tour with a local historian for small groups whether or not you are staying at Haviland Cottage.


What an absolute treat  !


Our guide Sue , is so knowledgeable,and makes the stories so interesting . She gets pleasure out of the history and sharing it with others which made it all the more fascinating.  Just the right pace as we were differently able.

Lots of information and none of it we knew! I like the local history and the Dickens element . Great to take in a sea stop and let the dog have a run and take in the sea air

We loved it. Thankyou for putting it together

Reviewed by Yvonne 2nd July 2021







Haviland Cottage guest book reviews

Book with confidence

Check availability and book on-line in minutes using our booking page